Dec 22, 2008

CST University Publication Award 2008: Winners Announced

Computer Simulation Technology (CST), Darmstadt, has announced winners of CST University Publication Award 2008.

The CST University Publication Award is an annual grant to university institutes and researchers for their work in the application of 3D EM field simulation. Now in this its fifth year, the quality of the publications was outstanding. Prerequisites for participation are that the papers are authored or co-authored by academic researchers, published either in scientific journals or conference proceedings, and the numerical results are entirely or in part obtained through simulation using CST software products.

Submissions were evaluated on a number of criteria including originality of the application or the theory, clarity of presentation, as well as the skilful usage of CST software features. For the first time in 2008, an additional special award for short papers was introduced. This acknowledges the importance of short conference papers in promoting the practical application of simulation.

“We were delighted with the quality and diversity of papers this year. The entries for both the traditional and the short paper awards have offered invaluable insight into leading areas of research and help us understand the demands being made of our software” said Dr. Martin Timm, Marketing Director, CST. “We would like to thank everyone who contributed and hope to welcome an even larger number of participants in 2009.”

The following papers have been selected to receive the CST University Publication Award 2008:

•“Numerically-Simulated Induced Electric Field and Current Density Within a Human Model Located Close to a z-Gradient Coil”; Yan Li, PhD, Jeff W. Hand, DSc, Tim Wills, BSc, and Jo V. Hajnal, PhD; JOURNAL OF MAGNETIC RESONANCE IMAGING 26 .
•“Cloaking and transparency for collections of particles with metamaterial and plasmonic covers”;Andrea Alù and Nader Engheta; OPTICS EXPRESS.
• “Wideband Reconfigurable Rolled Planar Monopole Antenna”; Giuseppe Ruvio, Max J. Ammann, Zhi Ning Chen; IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON ANTENNAS AND PROPAGATION.
https://www.cst.com/Content/References/Wideband+Reconfigurable+Rolled+Planar+Monopole+Anten na

• “ELECTROMAGNETIC MODELLING OF RESISTANCE SPOT WELDING SYSTEM”; A. Canova, G. Gruosso, B. Vusini; ISEF 2007 - XIII International Symposium on Electromagnetic Fields.
Short paper award

• “Omnidirectional Loop Antenna with Left-Handed Loading”; Alejandro Lucas Borja, Peter S. Hall, Qing Liu, and Hideo Iizuka; IEEE ANTENNAS AND WIRELESS PROPAGATION LETTERS.

More information about CST’s university program, the winner of the University Publication Award 2008 and the upcoming award 2009 can be found on the CST corporate website at: http://www.cst.com/Content/Company/UniProgram.aspx

CST develops and markets high performance software for the simulation of electromagnetic fields in all frequency bands. Its success is based on the implementation of unique, leading edge technology in a user- friendly interface. CST’s customers operate in industries as diverse as Telecommunications, Defence, Automotive, Electronics, and Medical Equipment, and include market leaders such as IBM, Intel, Mitsubishi, Samsung, and Siemens. With over 150 employees worldwide and a network of qualified distributors, more than 190 people are dedicated to the development and support of its EM products in more than 30 countries.

CST’s flagship product, CST MICROWAVE STUDIO® (CST MWS) is the market leader in Time Domain simulation. It enables the fast and accurate analysis of high frequency (HF) devices such as antennas, filters, couplers, planar and multi-layer structures and SI and EMC effects. CST MWS offers considerable product to market advantages such as shorter development cycles, virtual prototyping before physical trials, and optimization instead of experimentation. Further information about CST is available on the web at www.cst.com.